How do I deactivate a person’s Workplace account?

You must be a system admin to deactivate a person's Workplace account. If you would like your own account to be deactivated, contact your system admin.
Deactivating a person's Workplace account will log them out of every Workplace session and prevent them from accessing Workplace. Their account will also appear as deactivated to active users in your Workplace.
If a person has left the company, you can deactivate their account to remove their access to Workplace. The posts, comments and messages the person made before you deactivate their account will still be available.
To deactivate a person's Workplace account:
  1. From your News Feed, click Admin PanelAdmin Panel in the left menu.
  2. Click People.
  3. Click more options next to the person you want to deactivate and select Deactivate Account.
  4. Click Confirm.
How long does deactivation take?
Infographic showing that it takes 5 days for a deactivated user to be removed from Workplace.
The number 1 in a greyed out circle.Admin deactivates a user.
The number 2 in a greyed out circle.Deactivation takes effect after 24 hours.
The number 3 in a greyed out circle.The removal process begins.
The number 4 in a greyed out circle.4 days pass.
The number 5 in a greyed out circle.After 4 days, group memberships are automatically removed and cannot be restored.
The number 6 in a greyed out circle.The user is now deactivated.
It may take up to 24 hours for the deactivation of a user account to take effect.
After 4 days, we will automatically remove group memberships. If the deactivated account is reactivated within 4 days, all group membership and chat membership will be retained. Beyond 4 days, it will not be possible to restore group or chat membership.
Deleting a person's Workplace account
Once you've deactivated a person's account, you may choose to delete their account data too.
Was this helpful?
Yes
No